Home > Uncategorized > Reflections On Today’s Huffington Post, A Giant Growing Pain

Reflections On Today’s Huffington Post, A Giant Growing Pain

One of my tasks seeking column material, when I’m not interrupted by pesky doctor appointments, PET scans and biopsies, is a path that routinely takes me to the Huffington Post.

Now, the HuffPo is my source of amusement and entertainment and I admire its chutzpa as a model of economic success in a media world struggling for survival. If you want political balance, HuffPo is not the place to look.

The ink in my journalistic juices is not dry and for whatever reason I felt today like Vince Lombardi standing on the sidelines when his boys were screwing up and yelling to no one in particular: “What the hell is going on out there?”

Just take a look at Friday’s HuffPo menu like I did and reference each of the headlines to the first reaction you can think of.

General: Clinton Aide Suggested Letting U.S. Plane Be Shot Down To Provoke War With Iraq

Wouldn’t be the first time some idiot offered something stupid. Nor the last.

Followed by this sidebar: Jonathan Schwarz: ‘No Good Idea Ever Dies.’

Right. Shift stupidity to the Bush Administration.

Fox News Host: ‘All Terrorists Are Muslims’

Take that you Christian wimps. Makes one want to walk off the TV set or change channels.

From the boss lady herself:

Adrianna Huffington: Choking On Its Contrived Objectivity, The Media Refuses To Take A Stand on Sanity

Despite Ms. Huffington and comic Jon Stewart being political bedfellows, the sanity rally is a show biz put down. Get over it. Who needs MSM when we have Comedy Central?

WATCH: Dylan Ratigan BLASTS O’Reilly, ‘War On Islam’

Dylan who?

Christine O’Donnell Tells GOPers: ‘Ive Got Sean Hannity In My Back Pocket’

What else is new?

Olbermann: O’Reilly: ‘Just Another Fox News Bigot And Islamphobe’

I love both guys for no other reason than they are polysyllabic.

Did Michael Jackson Hate Oprah?

Who cares? He’s as dead as the latest Elvis sighting.

Bishop Gene Robinson: ‘How Religion Is Killing Our Most Vulnerable Youth’

I knew that.

Crashing The Tea Party Joyride

The author says they’re a sitcom. I say wait until November and see who’s laughing.

CEO Targeted By Attempted Killer Urges Advertisers To Drop Glenn Beck

They did that and he’s still on the air.

There’s more but I just cannot continue. Silly me.

I thought the Drudge Report was slanted; HuffPo is its equal. And so are almost all news sources. This is fabulous for news junkies: Spend your frigging hours clicking away at a zillion sources of misinformation.

But, oh, I don’t know, perhaps 95% of Americans don’t have time to learn anything other than drive time radio here and 15 minutes of Internet searches there and a half hour of cable or nightly news during home meals cooked in the microwave. Not to mention the late night comics. Ouch.

We Americans are not only getting less informed in the information age but becoming more politically polarized as a result.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 16, 2010 at 5:31 am

    Reciprocity: I take your headlines and reference each with the first reaction I can think of.

    One of my tasks seeking column material, when I’m not interrupted by pesky doctor appointments, PET scans and biopsies, is a path that routinely takes me to the Huffington Post.

    Pesky – this word is to diminish something that is huge and far more profound than column material. Actually, it provides far more important column material if the journalist dares. If media is slanted and Americans are polarized by the results – how about starting with the human condition: this is something we all share. To my ears the search for material is the distraction here.

    Now, the HuffPo is my source of amusement and entertainment and I admire its chutzpa as a model of economic success in a media world struggling for survival. If you want political balance, HuffPo is not the place to look.

    A born conservative running a successful left wing online journal – not fair and balanced?

    The ink in my journalistic juices is not dry and for whatever reason I felt today like Vince Lombardi standing on the sidelines when his boys were screwing up and yelling to no one in particular: “What the hell is going on out there?”

    Sports metaphors: I presume the sidelines reference is to being stuck in a bunch of medical procedures and being forced to be like the rest of us – an audience to the media. Yet here is a much more important reflection – how does the world look when you are robbed of your agency and are faced with examining issues of mortality in the context of the reductionist world of medicine?

    Just take a look at Friday’s HuffPo menu like I did and reference each of the headlines to the first reaction you can think of.

    I looked at the same headlines and had a very different take. Your stance is cynical and glib. Are your doctors cynical and glib?

    There’s more but I just cannot continue. Silly me.

    Why silly? Modesty? Too much material? Beneath us all?

    I thought the Drudge Report was slanted; HuffPo is its equal. And so are almost all news sources. This is fabulous for news junkies: Spend your frigging hours clicking away at a zillion sources of misinformation.

    So, you have figured out these sites are tabloids. You haven’t even approached the key issue to success – salaciousness. How else do we have Rupert Murdoch?

    But, oh, I don’t know, perhaps 95% of Americans don’t have time to learn anything other than drive time radio here and 15 minutes of Internet searches there and a half hour of cable or nightly news during home meals cooked in the microwave. Not to mention the late night comics. Ouch.

    “Listen little man” – 95% of Americans are like this and the remainder are journalists and tea party activists who know better?

    We Americans are not only getting less informed in the information age but becoming more politically polarized as a result.

    Are we polarized because we no longer drinking at the same trough – i.e. reading the same media. Or is it that we now have tabloids on the left as well as right with the possible exception of the Daily Mirror in the UK. It seems there is something you have forgotten – something you understood well when you first read the news. It has always been pretty one-sided. Now there is a selection of a different opinion – but ironically in the example of Huffpost – it is being managed successfully by someone with no deep allegiance to currently expressed views. But business is business.
    As a footnote – I read the piece on “CEO Targeted By Attempted Killer Urges Advertisers To Drop Glenn Beck” and sent a donation to Tides in honor of Drummond Pike.
    I had not heard previously of this incident, Tides was I thought the name of a laundry detergent and Drummond Pike was someone I knew nothing about. I may not share the approach of Tides, but I sympathize with its concerns. Its Mission states: “The Tides mission is to partner with philanthropists, foundations, activists, and organizations across the country and around the globe to promote economic justice, robust democratic processes, and the opportunity to live in a healthy and sustainable environment where human rights are preserved and protected.”
    I wonder if these “robust democratic processes” include a media not coopted by interests.
    Ironically: Did the Huffpo tabloid actually inform me about something – isn’t that what news should do?

    email me your first reactions!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

